2 & 4 = Yikes I’m one year older!

December 4, 2007

Cheesecake
I can still remember my 13th birthday. Can you? It was supposed to be a surprise party but of course I found out. My mother used to call me “The Secretary” because she said I always seemed to know what was going on. I could be all the way upstairs and if someone was in the basement and said my name…I would hear them. Even though it wasn’t the surprise it was supposed to be it was still a great birthday…especially because it was the first time my mother made me….my cheesecake. sigh. My cheesecake has a chocolate graham cracker crust with a smooth sour cream topping and cherry pie filling swirled in the shape of hearts on top. SO GOOD! I have had this cheesecake for every birthday since then and this year was no exception. It was my 24th birthday last week and my birthday dinner on Sunday this means, I don’t have a new and exciting recipe for you this week. However, I am going to share my cheesecake recipe with you so you can enjoy it too. This recipe is from a  Land O’ Lakes cook book.

Sweetheart Cheesecake

Crust:

1 1/3 cup crushed chocolate wafer cookies  
1/4 cup butter
2 tbsp Sugar
Filling:
4 Eggs separated
1/2 cup butter softened
2 pkg cream cheese softened
1 cup sugar
1 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp lemon juice

Topping:

1 cup dairy sour cream
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla
21 oz. can cherry pie filling

Heat oven to 325 degrees. In small bowl stir together all crust ingredients. Press crumb mixture evenly onto bottom of 9 inch spring-form pan. Bake 10 min. Cool. In small mixer bowl beat egg whites at high speed scraping bowl often until soft peaks form. Set aside. In large mixer bowl combine 1/2 cup butter, cream cheese and egg yolks. Beat at medium speed until smooth and creamy. Add remaining filling ingredients except egg whites. Continue beating. Scraping bowl often until well mixed. by hand fold in beaten egg whites. Spoon filling into prepared pan. Bake 60 – 80 minutes or until center is set and firm to the touch. Surface will be cracked. Cool 15 minutes. Loosen sided of cheesecake from pan by running knife around inside of pan. cool completely. Cheesecake filling will dip slightly upon cooling. In small bowl stir together sour cream 2 tbsp. sugar and vanilla. Spread evenly over top of cheesecake. Spoon out 2 to 3 tbsp. of cherry sauce from pie filling drop by the teaspoonfuls onto sour cream topping. Carefully pull knife or spatula through cherry sauce forming hearts. Refrigerate 4 hr. or overnight. Serve cheesecake with remaining pie filling.

 Enjoy! grin. :)

Leave a Reply

