An Apple Crisp Moment….

December 7, 2007

I was purusing a variety of food blogs as I usually do, to kill the annoying hour between 4pm and 5pm when I came accross Tomato & Sausage Risotto with Warm Apple Crisp By Love at first Slice. This got me thinking about how much I love apple crisp! It is one of those desserts that makes me warm and fuzzy on the inside. sigh. It is so good it causes me to think about cozy blankets and brick fireplaces on a rainy day. And what is better then that? And don’t forget,  it is super easy to make.

So, I thought I would share with everyone how I like to make my apple crisp. My recipe starts with the standard Betty Crocker recipe. Did I tell you how much I heart Betty? I like to use way more apples then the recipe calls for though almost double. I also like to make mine with 3 types of apples…one really sour really good for baking one like Granny Green Smith, one pretty crisp one like Honeycrisp and one smooshy (is that even a word? umm…) and sweet like Golden Delicious. Use more Granny Green Smiths then HoneyCrisps or Golden Delicious though. Otherwise your crisp will be really mushy and will cook down a lot. I mix all my apples together with a little vanilla, lemon juice, cinnamon, nutmeg, white sugar, and almond extract. I have no idea how much of each I put in so you have to do it to taste. Dump this mixture into a 9 x 13 greased baking dish and then make a double Betty Crocker recipe of crumble topping (I have already doubled the recipe for you). This makes it so every inch of apple has some of that brown sugar goodness on it.

Crumble Topping
1 1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour
1 cup quick cooking old-fashion oats
2/3 cups butter
1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Mix all of these ingredients together and then spread over apples. Bake this for about 30 minutes on 350 degrees. I like to serve this with vanilla ice cream or some homemade whipped cream. SO GOOD! The last time I made this was Thanksgiving and it was gone before I got some. grin. I don’t have a picture right now but next time I make it I’ll take a picture and post it. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “An Apple Crisp Moment….”


  1. […] Here’s the link – I think I’ll add some wheat germ when I make it, too […]

  2. missmiya Says:

    I never thought to add wheat germ to this recipe but then it will make it quick, easy, delicious and nutritional! What a great combination!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

